Tags

, , , ,

~~a pantoum~~

I offer hail to Strombolian eruptions,
little stones that break no bones
making light of your incandescent cinders
split apart on tindered fields.

Little stones that break no bones,
oh, lapilli, when did I stop believing?
Split apart on tindered fields
I burn and sputter, no relief.

Oh, lapilli, when did I stop believing
in non-violent sporadic joy?
I burn and sputter, no relief
belching memes like lava bombs.

In non-violent sporadic joy,
making light of your incandescent cinders,
belching memes like lava bombs,
I offer hail to Strombolian eruptions!

~~~

Author’s note: Strombolian eruption refers to volcanic activity that is mildly explosive, sporadic, and fairly safe to observe. Lapilli, Latin for little stones, are shot into the air, along with other bits and pieces mentioned in this pantoum. The term comes from the volcanic island of Stromboli off the coast of Sicily.

© Elaine Stirling, 2017
Photographer, unknown

