Tags

, , ,

pi

~~a terzanelle~~

so I never learned pi as a girl
my mind was too random
adults are crazy, life is a whirl

of homework and crushes and teenybop fandom
formulas caused my throat to go dry
my mind was too random

sucking in only enough to get by
I drooled at the prose of Dickens and Poe
formulas caused my throat to go dry

I couldn’t see which way my future would go
yearning each day to spin off and away
I drooled at the prose of Dickens and Poe

until infinite space finally had its say
slamming chaotic nonsense to form poetry
yearning each day to spin off and away

draws the ratio that powers my geometry
so I never learned pi as a girl
slamming chaotic nonsense to form poetry
adults are crazy, life is a whirl

Happy Pi Day!

~~~

The rolling dips and curves of the terzanelle seemed a fun way to celebrate 3.14.15, explained with great elegance by Steven Strogatz here.

© Elaine Stirling, 2015
The image of pi in cross stitch comes from http://www.kokoba42.blogspot.com.

