Tags

, , ,

fruit basket

A Rondeau Redoublé

These fruitful years that lie ahead
are lapping at my feet in waves;
with sweet detail my dreams are led
to more than what the most-of-me now craves.

Perceiving only good around me saves
infinities of drear and dread
from creeping in, and paves
these fruitful years that lie ahead.

To you who say I could be dead
tomorrow, yes! So what? Grave’s
a lead-lined attitude. Levities, well-fed,
are lapping at my feet in waves.

I tell you, friend, that worry shaves
the zest from life, not time; the bread
you taste by day, the shadow saves
with sweet detail, my dreams are led.

Of tragedy we’ve all been bled
and told, tut-tut, she misbehaves!
I turn my cheek to Paradise instead,
to more than what the most-of-me now craves.

Farewell, ye dis-imaginers and slaves
to methodologies that cramp the head
and bruise the heart. Your enclaves
fall behind the proofs that rise and spread
these fruitful years.

~~~

© Elaine Stirling, 2014

