Tags

, ,

lovecraft monster

I locked myself
out of my treasure
house.

With nothing
left to do until the
locksmith arrived,
I spent my time
justifying
margins
left right
center
profit
why I love
and why I ache
and why you’re wrong
and why I wait…

until I tired,
oh, I tired
of the locksmith
never coming and
the race to prove,
disprove, improve,
approve, and said
to hell with it, and
stole my way
inside

to find
that hordes
of mongrel graces
had preoccupied
the treasure house
while I was gone

and all
of them with google
eyes and hairy
scary countenances
stared at me and asked
me why I’d stayed
away from riches
that belong
to me
so long

and all
that I could
think to say was
I have been
preoccupied.

~~~

© Elaine Stirling, 2014
Fans of H.P. Lovecraft will recognize the scary beast image as one of Chthulhu, who’s quite adorable when you get to know him.

