Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

lavender-sprig1

A Villanelle

I’m in love with the man in a plaid tam o’shanter.
Though he’s promised to another, I am certain
we are bound through the heathered hills to scamper.

He comes to me at dawn in a jubilating canter
delivering the mail in a manner that is flirtin’.
I’m in love with the man in a plaid tam o’shanter

for he says I have a gift with the elocutious banter,
and my scintillating kisses stir the juices of his firkin;
we are bound through the heathered hills to scamper.

I’ve baked a dozen sausage rolls & packed them in a hamper,
I’ve tucked a sprig of lavender behind the kitchen curtain,
I’m in love with the man in a plaid tam o’shanter.

The village folk will talk, they do love to put a damper
on the passions that are not a’feared of temporary hurtin’;
we are bound through the heathered hills to scamper.

When you smell the lavender in fields or lowly planter
you’ll know that we have cast away all loneliness and burden.
I’m in love with the man in a plaid tam o’shanter;
we are bound through the heathered hills to scamper.

~~~

© Elaine Stirling, 2013
–lavender sprig from Bella Vita Botanicals

