Tags

, , , , ,

image of lupins from onlyhdwallpapers.com

image of lupins from onlyhdwallpapers.com

I pushed through crowds in search
of friends who fought on foreign shores
for liberty and found the broken body
of the quiet one who said, I will not fight.

I pushed through crowds in search
of friends who clamour loud for privacy
with news, I’ve found a place that’s safe!
They came, but no one shared their secrets.

I pushed through crowds in search
of friends who yearn to know the intimate,
and everywhere I turned they backed away
with signs that read, don’t look, don’t touch!

I pushed to know the wisdom of the crowds
who fight and learned there is a place where
secrets are held dear and friends move freely
touching in the quiet, pairing solitude of here.

© Elaine Stirling, 2013

